The Anthem Challenge #1

The challenge: to post ten anthems, songs that I love and played a major part in my life.

This may take some time. I may be a loyal lover but I’m not monogamous… and there are A LOT of songs to consider.

Number one is easy. My first love.

1981. Mrs Thatcher was Prime Minister, Charles & Di loved each other, the Dukes of Hazzard ruled and apparently I adored Adam and the Ants.

I don’t remember 1981, or it being number one, or my parents buying me the 7 inch record but this song is in my psyche and when I hear the opening: the trumpet, the drums and the horse’s whinny…it grabs my heart and transports me through time and space.

Stand and Deliver:

Adam and the Ants had two drummers, yes two, and I think it is something about that, the primal beat of the drum, that makes me love it. 33 years later (oh my god, I am old!) I still have that record. I love it and I always will.

2 thoughts on “The Anthem Challenge #1

Add yours

  1. Thanks for taking part in this challenge. What a great choice you’ve made for your first song. I personally love this tune. Like you, it transports me back to another time and place. I remember watching the video on Top of the Pops and thinking how cool it was that he jumped through a window. Welcome to the Anthem Challenge. Thank-you :]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

